Luton Town v West Ham United – All You Need To Know


Founded in April 1885, Luton Town became a founder member of the Southern Football League in 1894, then did likewise when the United League was formed in 1896, before joining the Football League in 1897.

Three years later, with the costs of facing predominantly northern opposition prohibitive, Luton returned to the Southern League, where they would face West Ham United for the first time.

In 1920, Luton returned to the Football League, where they have remained almost exclusively ever since.

The Hatters – Luton being known for its hat making industry – have enjoyed standout moments, with striker Joe Payne holding the record for the most goals scored in a single League match (ten against Bristol Rovers in 1936/37), and Ray Harford leading the club to successive Football League Cup finals in 1988 and 1989, defeating Arsenal in the first to win the club’s first and only major trophy to date.

In between, David Pleat led Luton to the top-flight for the first time as Second Division champions in 1981/82.

The Hatters dropped out of the Football League in 2009 but have since emerged up the divisions during two spells under current manager Nathan Jones, reaching the Championship in 2019.

Off the pitch, the club hopes to open a new 17,500-capacity stadium in the town by 2024.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *